Homeopathy To Heal

Classical Homeopathy

Stories We Tell

Leave a comment

Stories.

The stories we tell.

Brene Brown’s RAISING STRONG

I have been reading Brene Brown’s latest book, RAISING STRONG. One of the things she writes about is the stories we tell to ourselves and to others, and how we experience the story in our lives. When telling the story, we usually have the same ending, feel the same responses, have the same reactions, say the same negative talk to ourselves, and more. We do not move on from this, once-upon-a-time-719174__340from the story. It is ingrained in us. It is like an automatic response.

Brene Brown continues to write that when we truly feel the emotions with a curiosity to know what the emotions are about, the person can change the story. Not changing what happened, but change how we look at the story. It is with curiosity that enables the person to see, recognize, feel, share, and show their emotions to themselves and to others. They are witnessing their story –  feeling the emotions and what this story was and is for them. It takes courage to do this. The story no longer has power over the person; the person has the power. In a way, they have rewritten the story, and they can move forward.

Stories We Tell

I notice with myself, that sometimes when there is a situation that bothers me or I don’t like, I will start saying something about the person who may be involved. I start telling a story. For example, I may comment that a friend went shopping instead of being with a family member. Then I stop myself, and say I am just making up a story about this person. Really I don’t know what or how this person is feeling.

The story I was making up was more of a reflection of me, not so much about the person I was making the story up about. It was about me and how I felt. I might be feeling hurt, angry, disappointed, wanting something to happen or not to happen.We really are always talking about ourselves, no matter who or what we are talking about. We are talking about what we are sensitive to, what bothers us.

Homeopathy To Heal

When a person comes for homeopathic care, there is always a story. It is a story of their life, events, situations, relationships, reactions, responses, how and when their physical complaint started, how they experience it, and more.

As a homeopath, I listen through the story. (An earlier post I wrote about listening through.) I am witnessing the patient, the whole person. (Actually, the patient by-looking-271128_960_720and I are witnessing together.) How does the patient feel in the story? What are the sensations in the body? How does it feel in the body? What language is used consistently? What responses come up?  What gestures or movements are made? What keeps coming up?

I listen through the actual events of the story. So often we get caught up in a story, in the details, such as who did this and who did that. I listen to what this story is, as an expression of/for this person. This expression reflects the person’s sensitivity, which is at the core or source of what bothers the person, manifesting in physical, emotional, and/or mental symptoms.

A homeopathic remedy is given that is similar to the whole person, to their sensitivity, to what bothers them. This homeopathic remedy stimulates the person’s innate healing ability. As the person heals, what brought them in for homeopathic care is better, and their particular sensitivity quiets down.

What Is Your Story?

What is your story?

In addition to Brene Brown’s work, therapy/counseling, different healing modalities, homeopathy can be very helpful. I find that with a healing from homeopathy, the person uses other healing therapies in a more beneficial way. I invite you to witness your story and the core/source of it. You can contact me here through this blog or through my website www.homeopathytoheal.com.

Author: Pamela Hird Klein, PDHom(UK)

I am a classical homeopath. I attended The School of Homeopathy in Devon, England and the California Center for Homeopathic Education in San Diego, California. The latter program focused on the Sensation Method. In my practice, I see babies through older adults, for all kinds of health concerns, ranging from skin eruptions, asthma, women's issues, insomnia, sinus issues, anxiety, depression, chronic fatigue and more. www.homeopathytoheal.com

Leave a comment